About
All About Learning Press publishes All About Reading (four levels, Levels 1 to 4, plus a Pre-reading program), All About Spelling (seven levels), and All About Math (five levels). Its About page says All About Reading and All About Spelling are based on the Orton-Gillingham approach and are multisensory. Both are taught from scripted teacher's manuals and use Letter Tiles, and the FAQ recommends about 20 minutes a day on each program. The publisher says its lessons are mastery-based rather than grade-level-based and offers placement tests for reading and spelling. Its FAQ says both programs are very effective for struggling learners; that is the publisher's statement.
The Every Homeschool rubric review
Our deep read on All About Learning Press
Disclosure. Some links on this page are affiliate links. Every Homeschool may earn a small commission if you purchase through them, at no extra cost to you. Editorial picks are not influenced by commissions; see how we make money.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
All About Learning Press, Inc. publishes All About Reading, All About Spelling and All About Math. Its About page says the reading and spelling programs are based on the Orton-Gillingham approach, and its program pages describe them as scripted and open-and-go. This review covers the reading and spelling programs, not math. In our assessment, they are a focused pair of programs taught from scripted teacher's manuals, and their main trade-off is the price of each level.
Last updated: 2026-10-15 · Every Homeschool Editorial Team
At a glance
| Method | Orton-Gillingham approach per the publisher: the About page says the programs are "Based on the Orton-Gillingham approach" and multisensory, and the reading and spelling program pages call them scripted and open-and-go |
| Worldview | Not stated by the publisher. The About page and the other publisher pages that we read state no faith or worldview position. We did not read the texts of the decodable readers |
| Grades | The publisher assigns no grade to its reading levels: the Level 1 page says "Our lessons are mastery-based, not grade-level-based." The Pre-Reading program is "Designed for preschoolers and kindergarteners", and spelling was "designed with elementary and middle-school children in mind". The FAQ says both programs are used by "students of all ages, including pre-readers, teens, and adults" |
| Formats | Print teacher's manuals, activity books, flashcards and hardcover readers, listed on the reading and spelling program pages; physical Letter Tiles and a Review Box; an optional Letter Tiles app for tablets |
| Cost tier | Standard (our classification, set by the reading levels). Reading Level 1 to 4 materials list at $159.95 each and spelling materials at $49.95 to $69.95 per level, retrieved October 2026 per the publisher's price list dated July 21, 2026; see the cost section below |
| Parent intensity | 3 (our rating). The publisher describes lessons taught from a scripted teacher's manual, and its FAQ recommends about 20 minutes a day |
| ESA-common | Not stated. The FAQ gives purchases made with educational savings accounts and other state scholarship programs a 45-day return instead of the one-year guarantee, but the publisher's pages name no state program or marketplace |
| Accredited | Not stated. The publisher's pages that we read do not mention accreditation |
| Established | Not stated on the publisher's current pages |
| Website | allaboutlearningpress.com |
Our scoreboard (1-5)
The scores and reasons below are Every Homeschool's own judgment, based on what the publisher describes on its public pages. We did not read the teacher's manuals or the decodable readers, so the content and design scores reflect the publisher's public pages and its Level 1 reading scope and sequence.
| Criterion | Score | One-line reason |
|---|---|---|
| Academic rigor | 5 | Our judgment: an explicit, cumulative sequence; the program page lists words with Latin roots and Greek word parts at Level 7 of spelling |
| Ease of teaching | 4 | The publisher calls the lessons scripted and open-and-go, and its FAQ recommends about 20 minutes a day; the FAQ also says one of the first jobs before teaching spelling is setting up the Review Box |
| Content quality | 5 | Our judgment from the publisher's public pages and the Level 1 reading scope and sequence; the reading program page lists decodable stories for each of Levels 1 to 4. We did not review the readers' text |
| Flexibility | 4 | The home page says the programs are mastery-based rather than grade-level-based, and each program has a placement test; the Review Box and Letter Tiles are separate purchases |
| Value for money | 3 | Our judgment: list prices of $159.95 per reading level and $49.95 to $69.95 per spelling level, retrieved October 2026 per the publisher's price list, and each program has several levels; the publisher offers a one-year return on purchases made directly from it |
| Worldview scope | 5 | The publisher's pages that we read state no faith or worldview position; we did not read the readers |
| Visual/design | 4 | Our judgment of the publisher's public pages; the publisher describes full-color teacher's manuals and readers and color-coded Letter Tiles |
| Support resources | 4 | The About page gives a phone number and invites families to email or call, and the publisher lists a free resources page and FAQ videos; its home page says "lifetime support" |
Who the publisher is
The About page names Marie Rippel as the founder and curriculum developer behind All About Learning Press. The privacy page says the website is owned and operated by All About Learning Press, Inc., and the FAQ gives its returns address in Eagle River, Wisconsin.
What the publisher offers, per its home page, FAQ and program pages:
| Program | Levels per the publisher | What the publisher says about scope |
|---|---|---|
| All About Reading | Four levels (Levels 1 to 4) plus a Pre-reading program | Pre-Reading is "Designed for preschoolers and kindergarteners"; after Level 4 the FAQ says a child "has all the skills needed to decode just about any word" |
| All About Spelling | Seven levels | "designed with elementary and middle-school children in mind"; after Level 7 the FAQ says a child "will be spelling at the high school level" |
| All About Math | Five levels | "comprehensive math instruction covering K-5th grade"; not covered in this review |
The publisher's home page lists reading, spelling and math programs. In our assessment, a family will need other resources for subjects the publisher does not list, such as grammar, writing, science and history.
On method, the About page says the programs are "Based on the Orton-Gillingham approach." The publisher's blog post on the approach defines it as instruction that is "multisensory, sequential, incremental, cumulative, individualized, phonics-based, and explicit." Those are the publisher's descriptions; we have not tested the programs with students, and our scores rest on the publisher's public pages.
The core pedagogy
All About Reading. The home page describes it as a "Complete program that teaches phonics, decoding, vocabulary, fluency, and comprehension." The program page says Level 1 covers letter sounds for A to Z plus the consonant teams TH, SH, CH, CK, NG and NK, and lists 52 decodable stories. It says Level 2 teaches 12 new phonograms (27 stories), Level 3 teaches 16 (25 stories) and Level 4 teaches 15 (29 stories). The Pre-Reading program teaches five pre-reading skills: print awareness, phonological awareness, letter knowledge, listening comprehension and motivation to read, per the Pre-Reading page.
The FAQ says reading fluency practice uses activities and games, letter tile demonstrations, fluency pages with words, phrases and sentences, and fully decodable readers. It also says the publisher's goal is to minimize the number of sight words a child must memorize, and that comprehension is covered in every story lesson.
All About Spelling. The Materials pages for Level 1, Level 2, Level 3 and Level 4 say each lesson has five parts: Before You Begin, Review, New Teaching, Advanced Application and Track Your Progress. The FAQ says each spelling lesson presents a single new rule or concept, that continual review is built into the lesson plans, and that rules are first demonstrated with Letter Tiles.
Letter Tiles. The Letter Tiles page says the kit includes every tile needed for both programs, magnets and two storage bags, and the FAQ describes the tiles as color-coded. The tiles and the optional Letter Tiles app serve both reading and spelling.
Scripting. The reading program page says its lessons are "lightly scripted" and describes the program as scripted and open-and-go. The spelling program page calls it "a scripted, open-and-go program."
How the publisher describes a lesson
The publisher states these things:
- Reading: the FAQ recommends about 20 minutes per day on reading lessons, adjustable for early readers or older remedial students, plus reading aloud to the child for 20 minutes per day.
- Spelling: the FAQ recommends 20 minutes per day on spelling, adjustable to the child's level and attention span.
- Pacing: the level pages, for example Level 1 of reading, say the lessons "are not meant to be completed in one day" and that some lessons may take a week or more to finish.
- Review: the spelling FAQ says continual individualized review is a major component and that setting up the Review Box is one of the first things to do before teaching.
What they do well (our assessment)
A defined sequence for the teacher. In our assessment, the five-part lessons in spelling Levels 1 to 4 and the scripted reading manuals give a parent a set order to follow. The publisher's home page says "No teaching experience needed"; that is the publisher's claim, and we have not tested it.
Placement by mastery. The home page says the programs are mastery-based rather than grade-level-based, and the placement page offers a reading placement test, a Pre-reading readiness checklist and a spelling placement test. In our assessment, that suits families whose children do not match one grade level.
Components and returns. The publisher says the Letter Tiles are a one-time purchase per household, and the Level 1 page says the Teacher's Manual and readers are non-consumable. The guarantee page offers a full refund within one year of purchase, excluding shipping and return shipping, and does not apply to school, reseller or distributor orders.
Struggling learners. The FAQ says both programs are very effective for struggling learners. That is the publisher's claim; we did not evaluate outcomes.
What they do poorly (our assessment)
Cost per level adds up. At the list prices in the cost section below, each reading level costs $159.95 and each spelling level $49.95 to $69.95, and each program has several levels. The Letter Tiles and Review Box are separate purchases.
Not a full curriculum. The publisher lists reading, spelling and math programs, so in our assessment a family needs other resources for the subjects the publisher does not list.
Setup and pacing. The Level 1 reading Student Packet page lists 32 perforated Phonogram Cards and 193 perforated Word Cards, and the spelling FAQ says to set up the Review Box before teaching, so a family should expect organizing time before the first lesson. Because levels are mastery-based, a child who already reads fluently may still spend time in the early levels; the placement page says most students, regardless of age or grade level, should start spelling at Level 1, and some with a phonics background might begin at Level 2. In our assessment, a strong reader's family should take the placement tests before buying.
Who it fits / who it doesn't
Pick All About Learning Press if (our judgment): you want separate reading and spelling programs taught from scripted teacher's manuals; you want hands-on letter tiles; you want placement by mastery rather than by grade; you are comfortable paying per level; and you are looking for reading and spelling only, not a full curriculum.
Skip All About Learning Press if (our judgment): you need one program that covers every subject; you need the lowest-cost option; you want a program your child works through without you, since the publisher describes lessons taught from a teacher's manual; or you need accreditation or a transcript, which the publisher's pages do not mention.
Cost honest assessment
The publisher's list prices from its own product pages, retrieved October 2026 (the publisher's price list dated July 21, 2026 gives the same figures):
| Product | List price |
|---|---|
| All About Reading Pre-Reading Program | $119.95 |
| All About Reading Level 1 Materials | $159.95 |
| All About Reading Level 2 Materials | $159.95 |
| All About Reading Level 3 Materials | $159.95 |
| All About Reading Level 4 Materials | $159.95 |
| All About Spelling Level 1 Materials | $64.95 |
| All About Spelling Level 2 Materials | $69.95 |
| All About Spelling Level 3 Materials | $69.95 |
| All About Spelling Level 4 Materials | $69.95 |
| All About Spelling Level 5 Materials | $49.95 |
| All About Spelling Level 6 Materials | $49.95 |
| All About Spelling Level 7 Materials | $49.95 |
| Letter Tiles | $25.95, a one-time purchase per household |
| Review Box | $17.95; each student needs a box for each program, and the box is used for all levels |
| Letter Tiles app | $19.99, sold through app stores for iPad, Android tablets, Amazon Fire tablets and touch-enabled Chromebooks |
Per the product pages, a reading Materials set for Level 1 includes one Teacher's Manual, one Student Packet and three readers, and Levels 2 to 4 include two readers each. Each spelling Materials set includes a Teacher's Manual and a Student Packet; the Level 1 to 4 pages list an activity book in the Student Packet, and the Level 5 to 7 pages do not.
Our arithmetic from these list prices, before shipping and not counting Letter Tiles, Review Boxes or optional products: reading Levels 1 to 4 total $639.80, the Pre-Reading Program adds $119.95, and spelling Levels 1 to 7 total $424.65. For a second student, the Level 1 reading page says a family teaching more than one student needs an additional Student Packet, Review Box and Divider Cards for each student; the same page says Student Packets can be reused for future students and offers downloadable extra copies of the Progress Chart, Read-Aloud Record and Certificate. The Level 1 spelling page says a family reusing the materials can reuse the flashcards and buy another activity book.
The prices above are list prices; the publisher's FAQ links to a page of details about its promotions and sales.
In our assessment, the reading sequence is the larger cost and the spelling levels are the smaller one. Compare each publisher's current price on its own site before deciding.
ESA eligibility notes
The publisher's FAQ says that, because of individual state requirements, purchases made with educational savings accounts and other state scholarship programs are not covered by the one-year guarantee and instead have a 45-day return, subject to the state program's requirements. The publisher's pages name no state program or marketplace where its products are listed, and we found no approval list on its site. Families should ask their own program administrator whether a purchase qualifies before buying.
Verify with your ESA marketplace administrator before purchase.
Alternatives
- Logic of English. In our judgment, a family weighing this program could also look at Logic of English; compare each publisher's scope, lesson design and prices on its own pages.
- Explode the Code. In our judgment, a family weighing this program could also look at Explode the Code; compare each publisher's scope and prices on its own pages.
- A tutor trained in the Orton-Gillingham approach. In our judgment, a family whose child needs one-on-one help beyond what a home-taught program offers would consider a tutor, in place of or alongside a program taught from a manual at home.
Signature products
- All About Reading, Pre-reading program and Levels 1 to 4
- All About Spelling, Levels 1 to 7
Keep reading
New curriculum reviews every Monday.
Independent analysis of publishers like All About Learning Press , and the dozens of others across every method and worldview, published here weekly. No email. No paywall. Bookmark and return, or follow the RSS feed.