About
The Alveary is a Charlotte Mason curriculum created by the Charlotte Mason Institute (CMI), a nonprofit that describes itself as seeking to research and amplify the educational theories and practices of Charlotte Mason. The publisher offers daily lesson plans for all subjects in grades 1-12, with prep notes, narration ideas, exam questions, and links, sold as an annual family membership, and sells individual courses in its shop. The school year is three terms of twelve weeks, with history rotations that set the period most grades study. The booklist and supply list are free to the public, and members receive Office Hours, the Alveary Hive community, and a weekly newsletter.
The Every Homeschool rubric review
Our deep read on The Alveary (Charlotte Mason Institute)
Disclosure. Some links on this page are affiliate links. Every Homeschool may earn a small commission if you purchase through them, at no extra cost to you. Editorial picks are not influenced by commissions; see how we make money.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The Alveary is a Charlotte Mason curriculum created by the Charlotte Mason Institute (CMI), which its FAQ describes as an educational nonprofit. The publisher sells it as a family membership with daily lesson plans for all subjects in grades 1-12, and sells individual courses in its shop.
Last updated: 2026-10-08 · Every Homeschool Editorial Team
At a glance
| Method | Charlotte Mason; the publisher calls the Alveary a Charlotte Mason curriculum for home, co-op, and classroom, and its program page lists history, literature, science, art, music, geography, nature study, and more |
| Worldview | Christian · Ecumenical, an Every Homeschool classification that the publisher does not use. The publisher's FAQ calls Mason's paradigm decidedly Christian and says it does not promote a particular denominational doctrine, and a CMI post says a relational education is explicitly rooted in the Christian faith |
| Grades | Grades 1-12: the registration page lists the curriculum as grades 1-12, and the program page lists daily lesson plans for all subjects in grades 1-12. A Before Age Six Guide ($15, marked as included in the 2026/27 membership, retrieved October 2026) is offered for younger children. The home page also uses the phrases Pre-K to graduation and K-12, and the program page groups its first set of samples under the heading Pre-K to 3rd grade |
| Formats | Digital; the FAQ says all lesson plans are downloadable and printable, and the Alveary+ page says members can print courses, edit lessons, or order hard copies of lessons |
| Cost tier | Standard (Every Homeschool classification); the publisher lists a family membership at $299 per year for 2026-27 on its membership page and registration page, retrieved October 2026 |
| Parent intensity | 4 (Every Homeschool rating); the FAQ says students in Grades 1-3 require a lot of teacher attention and that high school lesson plans are written to the student |
| ESA-common | Not stated: the pages we read on the publisher's sites do not mention ESAs (read October 2026) |
| Accredited | Not stated for the curriculum on the publisher's pages; CMI describes an accreditation process for schools |
| Established | Not stated on the publisher's pages we read |
| Website | alveary.org · cminst.org |
Our scoreboard (1-5)
The scores and reasons below are Every Homeschool's own judgment, based on the publisher's public pages and its free sample lesson plans. We have not read the member-only lesson plans.
| Criterion | Score | One-line reason |
|---|---|---|
| Academic rigor | 4 | The daily lesson plans include exam questions, the 2026-27 scope and sequence lists Latin and Citizenship rows and Mathematics rows through Calculus, and the High School Science page lists Chemistry, Biology, and Physics, each with integrated labs |
| Ease of teaching | 3 | The daily lesson plans include prep notes, but the FAQ answers "Yes and no" when asked whether the Alveary is open-and-go and says students in Grades 1-3 require a lot of teacher attention |
| Content quality | 5 | In our assessment, the History Grade 1 and Geography Grade 1 sample lesson plans each list named books beside the schedule, and the FAQ says the publisher re-evaluates the books it recommends each year |
| Flexibility | 3 | The FAQ describes three twelve-week terms and says members may schedule their school year as they wish within an academic calendar it describes as running 13 months, from June 1 to June 30; the shop sells individual courses |
| Value for money | 5 | In our assessment, one $299 family membership (retrieved October 2026) that the publisher describes as access to all subjects for all grades is high value for a family with several children; the registration page lists book and supply lists, not the books themselves |
| Worldview scope | 4 | The publisher says it does not promote a particular denominational doctrine and is delighted to serve educators from a variety of religious and non-religious backgrounds, while the same post says a relational education is explicitly rooted in the Christian faith |
| Visual/design | 4 | In our assessment, the sample plans are laid out clearly: the History Grade 1 and Chemistry samples each give a course description, a scheduling table with books, and a sample weekly view |
| Support resources | 4 | Members get Office Hours, the Alveary Hive community, the Alveary Weekly newsletter, the Reflective Practice Planbook, and Foundations video courses |
Who the publisher is
The Alveary is a curriculum created by the Charlotte Mason Institute. CMI's FAQ describes it as an educational nonprofit (501(c)(3)) that seeks to research and amplify the educational theories and practices of Charlotte Mason, and says it helps educators practice relational education through curriculum, conferences, publications, training, and social media.
The FAQ says the curriculum is written by a team of over 20 veteran Charlotte Mason teachers, homeschool parents, administrators, and researchers, and that a team of Canadian lesson plan writers provides book selections and lesson plans in subjects where the content differs from that of the United States.
On research, CMI's Our Story page lists among its ongoing work researching The Parents' Review, analyzing the original PNEU schedules and programmes, and collaborating with scholars affiliated with the Institute for Education at the University of Cumbria. The FAQ says CMI is continuing its research at the home of Mason's House of Education as part of a partnership with the University of Cumbria at Ambleside.
On faith, the FAQ calls Mason's paradigm decidedly Christian and says the curriculum reflects her commitment to presenting the knowledge of God, man, and the universe, while saying CMI does not promote a particular denominational doctrine. A CMI post says a relational education is explicitly rooted in the Christian faith and that CMI is delighted to serve educators from a variety of religious and non-religious backgrounds. The Bible Grades 3-6 page says parents and teachers should adapt lessons as desired to fit their faith tradition.
The core pedagogy
The program page says the Alveary provides detailed daily Charlotte Mason lesson plans for all subjects in grades 1-12 with prep notes, narration ideas, exam questions, links, and extra helpings. The FAQ says the school year has three terms of twelve weeks, eleven weeks of instruction and one of exams, and that everyone except Grade 1 studies the same period of history, which it says makes it easy to combine students of different ages. It calls history the pivot of the curriculum, with art, music, and literature coordinating with the year's time period, and lists four history rotations: 800-1650 AD, 1650-1800 AD, 1800-1900 AD, and 1900 to the present, with grades 5 and up also studying an ancient period alongside each. The FAQ says 2026-27 is Rotation 3, 1800-1900 AD.
The 2026-27 scope and sequence lists rows for Art, Bible, Citizenship, English, Geography, History, Latin, Life Skills, Literature, Mathematics, Modern Language (French or Spanish), Music (including sol-fa), P.E., and Science, plus Architecture in grades 9-12. For mathematics, the scope and sequence lists rows from Math Lessons in grades 1-6 through Calculus, and the 2026-27 booklist lists published math programs such as RightStart Mathematics. The program page says the publisher wrote its own French, Spanish, Art, Geography, and Reading lessons when it could not find resources it liked. It also lists student resources (a compilation of the year's recitation, picture study, hymns, spirituals, and folk songs; lab books; a copywork and dictation book; modern language notebooks), an optional Latin online course, and tutorial and companion videos for handicrafts, folk dance, Art, Modern Language, Music, and Chemistry.
Signature mechanics, as the publisher's pages describe them: (1) Three twelve-week terms, with history rotations that set the year's period for many subjects, per the FAQ. (2) Daily lesson plans with exam questions, per the program page. (3) A public booklist and supply list: a CMI post dated April 30, 2026 says they are free to the public, and the home page says the booklist has links for purchasing or accessing free resources. (4) Teacher support: the program page lists Alveary Foundations (learn Mason's key ideas and methods for teaching each subject), a Reflective Practice Plan Book, Office Hours on live Zoom calls, the Alveary Weekly email, and the Alveary Hive, a private social media platform.
The FAQ says the publisher posts its Program and booklist on February 1 and publishes the year's lesson plans on June 1, and that all 2026-27 memberships expire on June 30, 2027.
How lessons are scheduled
The publisher's sample lesson plans list how often and how long each course is scheduled, in weekly frequency and minutes per lesson. Examples from the samples on the program page:
- History: Grade 1 (U.S.): 1 time per week, 10 minutes.
- Reading Level 1: 5 times per week, 15 minutes.
- Geography: Grade 1: 2 times per week, 15 minutes.
- Art: Level 1: 2 times per week, 20 minutes.
- High school Chemistry: lessons 5 times per week for 45 minutes, labs 1 time per week for 60 minutes, and Nature Walks & Scouting 1 time per week for 30 minutes or more.
The FAQ says families still decide how to combine students, what the schedule looks like, and which books from which grades to use.
What they do exceptionally well
Daily lesson plans with exams. The program page says the plans for all subjects in grades 1-12 include prep notes, narration ideas, exam questions, links, and extra helpings, and the FAQ says high school plans are written to the student. In our assessment, a family that wants a written plan for each subject and grade will find that here.
One family price for all grades. In our assessment, a single membership at $299 per year (retrieved October 2026, per the membership page and registration page), described as access to all subjects for all grades, is strong value for a family with children in several grades. The membership page lists one family price.
A public booklist. A CMI post dated April 30, 2026 says the booklist and supply list are free to the public, so a family can see the books and supplies before paying for a membership.
Support for the teacher. The FAQ lists Foundations video courses, Office Hours, the Alveary Hive, the Alveary Weekly newsletter, the Reflective Practice Planbook, and a searchable catalog of webinars and resources.
Charlotte Mason subjects in the plan. The scope and sequence lists Picture Study, Composer Study, Handicrafts, Sloyd, Sol-fa, Latin, and Nature Walks & Scouting among its rows.
What they do poorly
Parent involvement in the early grades. The FAQ says students in Grades 1-3 require a lot of teacher attention and students in Grades 4-6 still need heavy support sometimes. It answers "Yes and no" to whether the Alveary is open-and-go, and says families must still plan how to combine students, what the schedule looks like, and which books to use.
Books and supplies are sourced by the family. The registration page lists book and supply lists among the membership's contents, and the booklist describes links for purchasing or accessing free resources. This review does not estimate what the books cost.
Course pages mark what the membership includes. The shop says a full family membership includes all 2026/27 courses for grades 1 through 12, says courses or course options marked with an asterisk are included in the membership, and lists the history focus for the 2026-27 membership as Rotation 3. Some listings carry no asterisk, such as the courses for the other history rotations and Natural History Guides, and those are priced separately, so a family should check the asterisks on the product page before buying a course on its own or assuming it is covered.
Lesson plans are for grades 1-12. The home page uses the phrases Pre-K to graduation and K-12, and the program page groups its first set of samples under the heading Pre-K to 3rd grade, while the registration and shop pages and the program page's description of the daily lesson plans say grades 1-12. For younger children the publisher offers the Before Age Six Guide, which its page describes as a guide with reflection activities for the parent and practical suggestions for the home. A family shopping for a kindergarten curriculum should check which materials are included before paying.
An annual membership with a June 30 end date. The FAQ says members who do not renew lose access to the member side of the website on June 30, though lesson plans that were downloaded or printed remain usable and the links in them stay live. The membership page says membership is non-refundable and non-transferable.
A stated Christian framework. A CMI post says a relational education is explicitly rooted in the Christian faith and that Mason's ideas on Christianity and education shape how CMI creates the Alveary. The Bible course pages list a full year of lessons at 5 per week, for example Bible Grades 3-6. A family that wants a curriculum without a Christian framework should read the FAQ before registering.
Who it fits / who it doesn't
Pick The Alveary if: you want a Charlotte Mason curriculum with daily lesson plans for grades 1-12 and one family membership price; you have children in several grades and want to combine them in history, which the FAQ says is the same period for every grade but Grade 1; you want to see the booklist and supply list before paying; you are comfortable with a curriculum that CMI says is shaped by Mason's ideas on Christianity and education; or you are willing to carry the teaching load the FAQ describes for Grades 1-3.
Skip The Alveary if: you want to buy the full curriculum once rather than as an annual membership that expires June 30, 2027; you want daily lesson plans for kindergarten, since the publisher lists daily plans for grades 1-12 and a parent guide for the years before six; you want a curriculum without a Christian framework; or you want a program with no planning on your side, since the FAQ answers "Yes and no" when asked whether it is open-and-go.
Cost honest assessment
Per the publisher's membership page, a family membership (access to all subjects for all grades) is $299 for 2026-27 (retrieved October 2026). Registration opened February 1, 2026 and memberships expire June 30, 2027. The Alveary+ page lists an Alveary+ family membership with the Syllabird planning tool at $419, and the Alveary+ information page describes the planner as an additional $10 per month billed as $120 per year (both retrieved October 2026).
The publisher's groups page lists a discounted membership of $249 for families in an approved Alveary co-op (retrieved October 2026). To qualify, a co-op must be non-tuition-based, meet at least once a month, teach at least three Alveary subjects, and apply each year, and the co-op's leader must list at least three families on the application.
The shop sells individual courses, with prices on the course pages we read from $15 to $109 (retrieved October 2026). For example, Natural History Guides are $20, Picture Study is $35, and Bible for Grades 3-6 is $49 (all retrieved October 2026). Items marked with an asterisk are included in the membership. The home page offers a free term of Composer Study lessons to download.
The registration page lists book and supply lists, not the books themselves, among the membership's contents. A CMI post says the booklist and supply list are free to the public. This review does not estimate what the books cost, and it does not compare the Alveary's prices with other publishers' curricula, because those figures belong on each publisher's own page.
ESA eligibility notes
The pages we read on alveary.org and cminst.org do not mention ESA programs, vouchers, or approved-vendor status for any state. Whether a membership or course is an allowed expense is decided by each state program, so families should confirm the specific item and vendor with their program administrator, and can ask the publisher through its contact form linked from alveary.org, before ordering.
Alternatives
Each line below is Every Homeschool's judgment of when a family might choose another program.
- AmblesideOnline, a family would choose AmblesideOnline over the Alveary because its site describes it as a free homeschool curriculum that uses Charlotte Mason's classically-based principles.
- A Gentle Feast, a family would consider A Gentle Feast as another publisher of a program that, per its home page, is rooted in Charlotte Mason's methods and philosophies; its site describes a Feast Table membership. Compare its scope, grades, and prices on its own pages.
- Wildwood Curriculum, a family would choose Wildwood over the Alveary because its site describes it as a secular curriculum based on the original works of Charlotte Mason.
Signature products
- Annual Alveary family membership
- Daily lesson plans for grades 1-12
- Free public booklist and supply list
Keep reading
New curriculum reviews every Monday.
Independent analysis of publishers like The Alveary (Charlotte Mason Institute) , and the dozens of others across every method and worldview, published here weekly. No email. No paywall. Bookmark and return, or follow the RSS feed.